Kalitta Motorsports News

David GrubnicNORWALK, Ohio, (July 3, 2013) – Native Australian David Grubnic, driver of the Optima Batteries/Advance Auto Parts Top Fuel dragster for Kalitta Motorsports, hopes that this weekend will see a change of fortune for him and his team as they celebrate America’s Independence Day and compete in the annual running of NHRA Norwalk Nationals at Norwalk Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.

“We’ve been struggling with our Optima Batteries/Advance Auto Parts dragster,” Grubnic, a 50-year old resident of Bozeman, Mont., said. “We’ve been working on some new things, and sometimes you have to take a couple steps back to take three forward. We’re always looking to improve on our performance. Connie (Kalitta, team owner and crew chief) and the whole team have working feverishly to solve our performance deficit. We look forward to racing at Norwalk and at the same time celebrate this great nation’s birthday.”

Grubnic has raced to three quarterfinals thus far this season (Pomona, Calif., Phoenix, and Las Vegas), and he is currently No. 13 in NHRA Mello Yello Top Fuel championship points.

Del WorshamNORWALK, Ohio, (July 3, 2013) – Del Worsham, driver of the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car for Kalitta Motorsports, is eager to get his 10,000-horsepower “fuel flopper” back on the track and celebrate America’s Independence Day at the annual running of NHRA Norwalk Nationals at Norwalk Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.

“I'm very excited to race in Norwalk,” Worsham, a 43-year old resident of Chino Hills, Calif., said. “The Bader family (track owner) does an awesome job with the event. The fireworks show is the best I've seen, and I wouldn't want to spend the Fourth of July anywhere else.

“The DHL Toyota Camry has been at the top of the performance charts for most of the season, but the team has really stepped it up recently, and we know we have a hot rod that can go out and put up big numbers and compete for wins. That’s a great feeling to have as a driver.”

DELRAY BEACH, Fla. (July 3, 2013)— As the grueling four race back-to-back string of mid-summer NHRA events comes to an end with the 7th annual Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals in Norwalk, Ohio this weekend, the Kalitta Motorsports Tequila Patrón Toyota Camry Funny Car team hopes to finish out the stretch strong before the much needed break prior to the infamous ‘Western Swing.’ 

“These past three races in Bristol, Epping, and Chicago have been somewhat frustrating for the Patrón team,” says Alexis DeJoria, driver of the black-and-green bee-emblazoned machine. “We haven’t done as well as we had hoped, and we’re really looking to turn things around at this next race.”

“Last year, we DNQ’d [Did Not Qualify] in Norwalk which was a major disappointment. We’re at the halfway point in our season, and so far, we’ve been able to qualify at every race this year, which has been great” she said, adding “It would be awesome to redeem ourselves there this year and not only qualify, but qualify in the top half of the field and go rounds on Sunday.”

JOLIET, Ill. (June 30, 2013)— After losing one round of qualifying on Friday due to inclement weather, the Kalitta Motorsports Tequila Patrón Toyota Camry Funny Car team went into Sunday’s eliminations qualified in the No. 14 spot facing reigning NHRA World Champion Jack Beckman at the Route 66 NHRA Nationals with their 4.124-second run from Friday’s only session.

While waiting for Mother Nature to roll through the Windy City on Friday, and knowing that Saturday’s weather may be touch-and-go as well, Team Patrón crew chief Tommy DeLago set driver Alexis DeJoria’s Patrón hot rod with a conservative tune-up, ensuring the Toyota Camry would make it down the track on all eight cylinders. That 4.124-sec pass would carry Team Green through the weekend as the car struggled to make it down the track in Saturday’s qualifying sessions.


Del Worsham: Driver of the DHL Toyota Camry Funny Car
Q1: 4.679 seconds, 179.09 mph
Q2: 4.054 seconds, 313.73 mph
Q3: 3.999 seconds, 318.99 mph (Worsham becomes the fifth member of the 3-second club with eighth quickest run in the history of Funny Car)

Qualifies: 4th

Doug Kalitta – Driver of the Mac Tools Top Fuel Dragster
Q1: 3.772 seconds, 322.34 mph (Two bonus points for second best of the session)
Q2: 3.753 seconds, 328.22 mph (Three bonus points for best of the session)
Q3: 3.832 seconds, 308.71 mph

Alexis DeJoria: Driver of the Kalitta Motorsports Tequila Patrón Toyota Camry

The Results:

Q1: 4.124 ET at 306.88 MPH

Q2: 6.274 ET at 109.03 MPH

Q3: 8.353 ET at 79.91 MPH

*Note: Friday’s second qualifying run was cancelled due to inclement weather

The Competition:

No. 14 Alexis DeJoria vs. No. 3 Jack Beckman


Alexis DeJoria, Driver

“Coming into Chicago, our entire team was really excited about racing here. We went to the semifinals last year, and we all know how fast this track can be. Qualifying didn’t go as well as we had hoped today but thankfully, we were able to run a 4.12 in the first round which carried us through the weekend and kept us in the show. I think we’re just getting all the bugs out and working on getting a good handle on the car. I’m looking forward to racing tomorrow and hopefully we can go rounds.”

kstrong banner

NHRA Next Event

Running a Mac Tools Mobile Franchise is One of the Best Jobs You Can Have.

Top Fuel for Life

Have you got your copy of Top Fuel for Life? Click to purchase!
For any questions, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Donate to the
Tammy O Foundation


On the Run with Ashley


Mello Yello Championship Points

Top Fuel (Unofficial)

1. Doug Kalitta (112)
2. Tony Schumacher (95)
3. Clay Millican (84)
4. Antron Brown (78)
5. Steve Torrence (60) 
6. Scott Palmer (47)
7. Brittany Force (35)
8. Leah Pritchett (32)
8. Mike Salinas (32)
8. Steve Faria (32)
13. Richie Crampton (27)

Funny Car (Unofficial)

1. Matt Hagan (127)
2. Robert Hight (101)
3. Jack Beckman (81)
4. Ron Capps (78)
5. Jonnie Lindberg (51)
6. J.R. Todd (49)
6. Tim Wilkerson (49)
8. Cruz Pedregon (48)
9. Courtney Force (36)
10. Shawn Langdon (32)
10. Tommy Johnson Jr. (32)
10. Del Worsham (32)